Mets Press Release Announcing Trade of Carlos Beltran
It's Tuesday, July 26th and Carlos Beltran is still a Met as of this writing. But just as that strange feeling you get every once in a while that turns out to be true, I just know what the Mets press release will say once the trade of Beltran happens. I'm pretty sure it's going to say something like this (maybe exactly like this):
With great regret today the Mets organization announces the trade of Carlos Beltran. Carlos has been a true professional in his many years in a Met uniform and we thank him for all he's done. While we really didn't want to trade a player of Carlos' stature, we felt it was in the best interests for the Mets organization as we continue to look to the future with the goal being to put a championship caliber team on the field every day for the great fans of the New York Mets.
And although we've traded a player with immense talent, we want to make it absolutely clear to the fans that this move does not in any way signify that we have given up on the 2011 season. We'd also like to make it clear that the trade of Carlos Beltran was not in any way influenced by the financial condition of Mets ownership nor will the outcome of the Madoff lawsuits have any effect the Mets bottom line or the pursuit of any available player in any fashion.
Despite Carlos' continued and expressed desire to remain a Met, we could not risk losing him without any compensation to another team in a better situation to match or beat any outrageous salary demand he may have required.
Terry Collins has done a fantastic job with the players made available to him and Mets ownership has every confidence in the world he will continue to do so as we continue to clean house. Again, this should not reflect in any way on the financial condition of Mets ownership as we will continue to give you the straight truth with all our baseball decisions. We wish Carlos Beltran all the best in his future endeavors (although not against us).
... I just know it. For the record, I'm okay with the Mets trading Beltran (although it still doesn't make sense why the Mets can't at least try to sign him to a longer term deal to remain a Met - there are not many players in baseball better all-around then a healthy Beltran). And believe it or not, I'm also okay with them giving up on the season in order to play the young guys to see what they have.
But what I'm NOT okay with is the eventual insistance by Mets ownership that they're getting rid of Beltran AND not giving up on the season. Trading Beltran signifies one or the other - you can't have it both ways. When they finally announce the trade, how much do you want to bet you'll also see Mets ownership bring out the "we're not giving up" playbook speech as well?
The truth is that Mets ownership has been less than truthful with us fans for quite some time now. They also think we're idiots. When the trade of Beltran finally goes down, how far off will I be from my press release prediction?
WOW! I Don't Believe My Eyes ... or Dillon Gee's Got My Vote
As I am writing this Tim Byrdak is closing the ninth inning for Dillon Gee and just stuck the the first batter, Neil Walker, OUT! It still amazes me, no pun intended, that Gee was allowed to pitch through the eighth. That is baseball as I remember it, the pitchers doing great, let him finish what he started. I would have liked to have seen Gee finish up, but as it is, since following the game online, I do not know if it was Gee's decision, or Collins'. Either way, I'll accept it.
Just received a text from a fellow Mets fan responding from my earlier text that I could not believe that Gee was still in the game with the Mets so far ahead ... he responded "I like that. This is all of a sudden a fun team to watch!" and I could not agree more. These past few weeks have been fun. OK, so they did not come back to win it the other night, but at least they came back, and that is something that under the last GM and Managers was something that was a rarity. Still chilled of the days of Jerry Manuel actually stating the defeatist attitude. With Sandy Alderson and Terry Collin you cannot help but feel the optimism. It does seem to have an effect on the younger players, they do not seem jaded and defeated even when the team is in a hole. Now, they have the drive to fight back. That never say die attitude. Something that has been missing from this team for a while. It is infectious, so much so, that the it even seems to be spreading to the veterans who at one time seemed to be happy just getting by.
Think about this ... even with Santana, Wright, and Davis out, this team still seems to be moving in the right direction ... dare we say it? Let alone think it? and to those in the media .. why not? what makes your opinion better the ours? The fans? As far as I can see, not much.
Oh, and as for Dillon Gee ... as of tonight he is (7-0) with the Mets defeating the Pirates (8-1) ... forget All-Star .. he has my vote for the Cy Young Award ..... when he pitches, it is like fire igniting this team ...
I've been a Met fan for a long time, really my entire life. And being a Met fan meant that you rout for your team and against your opponents. Growing up it was always "the Mets" or "the other guys". That held true for me for just about every player, except in the case of Gary Carter. I've always been a fan of Gary Carter and he was always an idol of mine - even as a Montreal Expo. And when the Mets acquired him, there wasn't a happier Met fan out there. Very few players create a legacy in their first game with a new team, but Carter's homer off of Neil Allen to open the 1985 season is an ingrained memory that I'll always remember as a lifelong Mets fan... his storybook Met career began.
That is why I feel a profound heartache hearing the latest news of his being diagnosed with grade 4 glioblastoma, a horrible disease affecting the brain and central nervous system. For some strange reason, I feel like he's a friend of mine, probably because he was the catalyst that made a good team in 1984 a great team in 1985, and a championship team in 1986.
Many words such as superstar and legend are way overused in today's media, but they certainly apply to Carter. As the final piece of the Mets championship team, Carter quickly rose to the status of fan favorite. He's in the Mets Hall of Fame. He was an 11-time All Star. He was enshrined in Cooperstown in 2003 (where he wanted to go in as a Met, but the powers that be in baseball thought otherwise). He had a lifetime batting average of .262 with 324 home runs and 1,225 RBI in a 19-year career with the Expos, Mets, Giants and Dodgers. From 1977-1986, he was as big a star as baseball had.
He's won a World Series. He was the co-captain and backbone of that 1986 Championship team and remains in my mind as one of the best clutch hitters I have ever seen. In addition, he was unparalled defensively where I've seen him throw out speedy baserunners after catching breaking balls in the dirt. Carter did everything right, and always with a smile. There's not much more to say other than I loved watching him play the game. With apologies to Mike Piazza, Carter's probably the best all around catcher in Mets history, kind of like Piazza's hitting combined with Jerry Grote's catching. He was as competitive as any player ever. Clutchness defined him.
Take the infamous Game 6 as an example. When asked his thoughts batting in extra innings with 2 outs and no one on base, about to see the Red Sox win their first championship since 1918, all he was thinking was "I wasn't going to make the last out". He always personified the true heart of a champion. His hit paved the way to arguably not the greatest moment in all of baseball history, but all of SPORTS history!, a moment embedded into the minds of all Mets fans to forever savor. (little known fact: his sacrifice fly tied that game in the eight inning as well - the man was clutch!)
For all Gary Carter has given to baseball, and specifically to the Mets, I call for the team to officially retire his #8, and to schedule a special day at Citi Field to bestow this honor on him.
What a great and emotional day that would be! When you think of #8, you think of Carter. Notice how the numbers of other "significant" Mets have been recycled over and over (#17 comes to mind, but that's a topic for another story), but rarely has #8 been worn since Gary Carter left the Mets in 1989 after 5 phenomenal seasons and 2176 at-bats in a Met uniform. Carter has provided the Mets and Mets fans with countless memorable moments - now it should be our turn to support "our own". Retiring his number is the right thing to do, and it should be done soon, anything to help him fight the fight of his life. I'm sure all Met fans join me in wishing him the best in his recovery.
I actually had the pleasure of meeting Gary Carter in person for one fleeting moment in 1988. While walking down the streets of New York with a friend of mine, we saw Carter approaching us. We knew who it was from a distance. (When you're a Met fan, you know an idol when you see one.) Just as he was passing by, I uttered "Gary Carter... thanks!". What happened next has stayed with me till this day.
He stopped, and asked "thanks for what?" I responded, "for all the baseball memories". He then said (and I quote), "No, thank YOU for being a fan", shook both our hands, and continued on his path. Now, we weren't even kids at the time, but "The Kid" took it upon himself to engage a couple of strangers in a short conversation that will never be forgotten. He probably didn't even realize the impact that moment had on two of his fans.
That's why I'm a Met fan. And that's why I was, and always will be, a Gary Carter fan. "The Kid" always epitomizes optimism, which is something we'll need in major doses in the upcoming days, weeks, and months. We need to honor Carter NOW, retire #8, and not wait before it's too late. No one is more deserving. In fact, the Mets have had other legends affected by brain tumors, such as Tug McGraw (who I also had the pleasure to meet on several occasions well after his retirement). Perhaps the team can launch some kind of charitable program with a priority to raise money to find a cure for brain diseases.
In 1986, things looked bleak and hopeless in game six until Gary Carter dug his heels in to spark an amazing comeback rally. Now, he'll need that courage and determination that defined him as a player, husband, coach, friend, and man to beat the odds once again. I really hope Gary will fight hard to beat this disease, If anyone can fight this, it's the 57-year old Carter.
I'm praying for him and his family to stay strong. And if I have just one thing to say to him at this time, it would be this: "Gary, do not make that final out"
Before going any further, we'd like to thank all those who have visited our MetsFanClub.com website over the years and hopefully enjoyed the content and information we've tried to provide in making us the "Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere". Over the past few weeks, we've made the decision to turn this site into something a number of our members wished for but couldn't find elsewhere: a mobile message board for all to see.
As such, by visiting the new MetsFanClub.com (which should be available shortly), you'll be able to use your mobile phone to text METS followed by your message and have that message immediately displayed to the board for all Mets fans to see. It doesn't matter where you are, as long as you have internet access, you'll be able to tell fellow club members (as well as anyone else viewing) exactly what your thoughts are - before, during, and after each and every game and at all times in between.
There are tons of Mets related blogs, fan sites, and resources. But you will not find Text-to-Screen of this nature at any other site - and hopefully it really catches on because we are providing this service ABSOLUTELY FREE!
In addition, we'll be changing our membership functionality too. We're going entirely mobile so if you want to become a member of MetsFanClub.com, all you'll have to do is text the word METS to 69302, and you're in. Simple and Amazin'! Start off by "liking" us on Facebook.
Watch this video to remember the mindset of the Mets just a short time ago when just about everyone was getting injured on a daily basis. Things really are getting better every day with this team!
Abbott and Costello Have Nothing on the Mets After Big Comeback Win
So Hu was it. Hu was the guy with the clutch 9th inning sacrifice fly that tied the game for the Mets.
Was it Daniel Murphy, who had homered the previous inning to offset an incredibly bad call at by third base umpire Marvin "Kate" Hudson, who mysteriously called Reyes out on an attempted triple when he was clearly safe from all angles?
No, I'm telling you Hu was the guy.
Was it Jason Bay, who started the ninth with a tough at-bat and single to start the ninth inning rally?
I keep telling you Hu was the guy.
That's what we're trying to figure out! Was it Ike Davis, who punched a bloop single in the inning?
No, Ike was there in the first place. Ike started the game at first.
Then what happened to him? At first? Nothing.
How about Willie Harris laying down a nice bunt single?
No, I don't know how many times we have to tell you: Hu was the guy who hit the sacrifice fly to tied the game.
That's what many of you are probably asking! But we're telling you Hu was the guy.
Hu was erased at third? No, Jose was Reyes on third by the bad call by the umpire. Hu was the guy that tied the game.
And the Mets held the Nats at bay? No, Bay was the guy who had the leadoff hit in the inning and tried to make a nice diving catch of a screaming liner the inning before.
So Hu was the guy in left. No, Bay was the guy in left. Hu was the guy playing second in the bottom of the inning when KRod picked up his 6th save.
Was it pretty to see the Mets actually win their first game after trailing in the ninth since September 25th, 2009? No, Pridie was in center. He didn't see most of the game.
Hu didn't see most of the game? No, he did. But it wasn't Pridie. It was only Pridie in the ninth.
Because the Mets came back then, right? No, Wright had nothing to do with it. In fact, he struck out to end the inning.
And it was a totally team effort? No Thole's just one guy. He's the catcher. Thole was the catcher and his passed ball caused the Nats to score their go-ahead run at the time in the eighth.
So the Mets Thole dropped the ball?
No, not totally. After all, they won the game after Hu tied it.
You're asking me who tied the game again! I thought we just went through all that!
So the Mets held the Nats at Bay, they Thole dropped the ball at the plate, Jose was Reyes at third, Hu tied the game and played second, the Mets had no Wright to win it at third, Ike played the whole game in the first place, and it wasn't Pridie. Now that makes total sense!
Hambone! Mets Take Advantage of Armando Benitez Syndrome
Anyone who watches PBA Bowling knows (and there are many who think watching bowling is more exciting than sitting through Mets games unfortunately) ESPN color commentator Rob Stone refers to 4-strikes in a row as a "hambone". Well, the Mets have achieved something similar as they're currently in the midst of a 4-game winning streak. And instead of fans being happy about the latest positive Met development, we're hearing lines such as:
"Oh, well, it's only the D-backs. Wait 'till they play a real team."
"I can't get excited over this team until they beat someone good."
"Bad team? No pressure? I bet Wright's hitting."
And the ever popular, "What do you expect? They're SUPPOSED To beat those teams!"
And that's exactly the point, something I call the "Armando Benitez Syndrome" named after one of the most unsung Mets relievers in the history of the franchise. I loved Armando Benitez, and do you want to know why? Because he saved the games he was supposed to save. Sure he blew up in pressure situations against the hated Braves and many, MANY, a postseason appearance. But the point is this: if you want to be successful in baseball, YOU HAVE TO BEAT THE TEAMS YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BEAT.
Every single team that's made the postseason in the history of baseball has beaten the teams they're supposed to beat - no exceptions! When you beat the teams you're supposed to beat, your chances of reaching the postseason drastically increase. It's only when you don't that your team misses out.
Take the Mets "choke" years of 2007 and 2008 as examples. When they blew a 7 game lead with 17 games left to go in the season, it wasn't because they lost to Philadelphia - it was because they couldn't beat the likes of Washington and Florida. And when they had their second September collapse, it wasn't Atlanta that did them in. It was losing to the woeful Marlins that killed them. In both cases, the Mets were clearly better than those teams, yet they didn't get the job done. They didn't beat the teams they were supposed to beat. And as a result blew their shot at a postseason berth.
You could fill a scrapbook of painful memories watching Benitez pitch in "big" games. But the guy was lights out when it came to the likes of the Pirates, the Brewers, the Expos, the Phillies (then), etc. He beat the teams he was supposed to beat, and because of that, the Mets were in a position to put him on the big stage for his memorable implosions. Isn't that what we all want?... Just the CHANCE to see the Mets fail in a big game?
All kidding aside, beating the teams you're supposed to beat is the secret of a successful season and NO TEAM earns a post-season berth without doing so. The Mets just did that over the weekend at Citi. Fans can discount the current 4-game winning streak all they want, but the point is just doing so is a great sign in the right direction.
And by the way, the Armando Benitez Syndrome is the secret of success in many other areas of life as well. Ace the tests in school you're supposed to ace. Do the little things you're supposed to do. Give the presentation at work you're supposed to give. Buy the gift you're supposed to buy. Compliment the person you're supposed to compliment. Life's a lot easier that way.
And most of all, be happy for the things you get - like hambone winning streaks against the bottom feeders of the league.