Metsfanclub.com - The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

Monday, May 18, 2009

Reyes Needs To Go ...

Have I gotten your attention? Good, read on ...

As a Mets fan, you get used to your life being on a roller coaster. The ups and downs of this team over the last few years has taught this fan one thing, if it has taught me anything at all: how to deal with adversity. Today we are on top, by season's end, well, who knows?

I have yet to make it to the new ballpark. Like most, I just cannot get used to the name change, and from what I hear, you can hardly tell that you are at the new home of the New York Mets. There is no sure signs of the team's past history. I wonder why? What was on the minds of the powers that be when they drew up the plans, and willing to spend all of those million$, that made them not want to include the teams past? Whatever answer they give will never ring with truth. Most corporate responses never do. For me it will always be SHEA, for without him, without those who many years ago believed in a National League team for New York, there would never have been a New York Mets to build a new ballpark for.

Now, the reason for this writing .... the other day when Jose Reyes jogged to base and did not run it out, he caused visions of Timo Perez to dance in my head. Whether the ball was hit hard enough that would allow him to beat out the throw is immaterial. No matter how a ball is hit, I am of the school that a player should always run it out at full speed. You never know what could happen. Think about it, it takes at least seven moves to catch and toss a ball, anything can happen in that amount of time, and if the batter is running it out, that could cause the player to possibly bobble the ball ...

The other day I was bouncing around the dial listening to New York sports talk radio. On one of the shows a caller suggested that we fans and the talk personalities should lay off Jose Reyes since, get this, “... he is only 26 years old and still learning the game.” Well, if you ask me, and I know you haven't, Jose Reyes is a 26 year old that has been in the majors for 7 years and making more money in one season than the caller, his family, and most of us will probably make in a lifetime. Let's not forget the antics of not long ago when manager Jerry Manuel took Reyes out of a game and Reyes responded by being a baby. So callers, the next time you tell us fans to back off on a player, think again.

So, here is my theory about Jose Reyes ... with all the press, media bums, and fans out there, day after day, touting that David Wright and Jose Reyes are UNTOUCHABLE, meaning they are UNTRADABLE. There are however have been some out there who have suggested it and have gotten their heads bitten off, but I believe this is what has led to Jose Reyes acting the way he has. His family and friends probably tell him that everyday. Everyday Jose probably reads somewhere that he is untouchable. That he will never be traded. That he is most important to this teams success. Well, if I went to work and heard this about myself everyday, I would probably act like a prima donna as well. Or, maybe not, considering I don't make million$ and my boss would fire me, and since I do not have a guaranteed contract I would be out there the next day job hunting.

I like Jose Reyes, I like his spunk, however, if he is not going to pay attention, if his antics become even more detrimental to the success of this team then YES, trade him, and let's get another bat, more power, someone who can help us score more runs, especially when the bases are loaded.

Oh, and I cannot believe that I am saying this, but kudos to Mike Francesa for breaking down last night's game on the bases loaded call when Jerry Manuel pulled Daniel Murphy and put in Angel Pagan. Like the C-Man wrote in an earlier article, a bad Murphy is still better than a good Pagan. Since before the game it was stated that Reyes would be available for tonight's Dodgers game, I agree with Francesa on this point, why not put in Reyes? He could have been the spark that was needed. Bases were loaded, what did they have to lose? The game, and they did. Don't get me wrong, I hate having to qualify this but, I am tired of settling for 3 out of 4, a sweep would have been better.

Good luck tonight guys .... let's bury Torre and his boys.

Labels: , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home