"Show me a Met fan that slept last night, and I'll show you someone who's not a Met fan." (Bill Buckner
)Okay, well... maybe Bill Buckner didn't say that. But I did - and I'm sticking to it! Certainly the Mets have lost their share of games over the years in dramatic fashion, but I can't remember EVER seeing what happened last night ever happen before in all the years I've watched baseball (and that's a lot of years).

First off, if you haven't turned on your TV, radio, computer, or just not spoken to a living human being since last night, the Mets last night battled back from 3 different deficits, somehow managed to take the lead and had a 8-7 advantage in the bottom of the ninth with two outs and Choke-Rod at the plate. Sure enough, AFraud lifted a routine popup which Luis Castillo tried to catch ... and dropped. The result was a 9-8 loss by the Mets at the joke of a ballpark that is Yankee Stadium. (By the way, the term "joke of a ballpark" is not my opinion - respected baseball analysts are calling the new Yankee Stadium that, not me).
"One small drop for a man..., one giant leap for Castillo haters" (Neil Armstrong
)
Okay... well maybe Neil Armstrong didn't say that. But let me just say: just as Mookie Wilson's grounder is the crowning moment of baseball history for the Mets in a good way, last night's play will NEVER be forgotten by the Mets faithful in a bad one. In fact, it has to be the single worst result in the history of the franchise - and this is a franchise that's lost a lot in the past! Somewhere, Marvelous Marv is smiling. For me, it USED to be the stunned feeling I got watching Kenny Rogers walk in the final run against the Braves years back. This easily surpasses that in shock value and henceforth has earned the Mets secondbaseman the moniker "cASStillo".
Okay... so he didn't catch the simple popup that little leaguers catch every day. It happens... actually I take that back. It NEVER happens - but okay, it did happen. Why, after picking up the ball, do you throw to second base and not go home to cut down the runner from scoring from first?
Me, watching the game... not even on the field... with a drink in my hand..., a nanosecond after seeing cASStillo drop the ball, immediate thinks "throw it home... throw it home"!!! Instead, cASStillo upgrades his boneheadedness by tossing the ball to second, presumably to cut down ARod trying to stretch his shot into a double??!?!?! Truthfully, the throw to second bothers me way more than the drop. Physical errors I can deal with - it's the mental ones that drive fans crazy.
Whether or not he had a shot to nail Teixeira at the plate, I don't know. But that point's irrelevant - Luis: you gotta go home with that throw. And I don't want to hear "Oh, it's a split second decision. He didn't have time to think". If I knew to throw home, and my girlfriend knows that, and the drunk sitting next to me in the bar knows that, then cASStillo should know that too.
Here's an interesting thought: As much as I hate to, credit needs to go to Teixeira for running out the play. I wonder if the situation were reversed, whether guys like Reyes, Beltran, and of course cASStillo would have been running it out like Tex was on a seemingly game-ending routine popup.
You play to your strengths, right? Then why can't KRod just go after Mark Teixeira instead of intentionally walking him to put the winning run on base? Sure, this is hindsight speaking, but KRod (arguably one of the top five closers in baseball) surely has the "stuff" to challenge Teixeira in that situation. Seems no one is asking Jerry Manuel that question, but in my opinion, pitching around Teixeira there was a bad move. It would have been a good move if Sean Green were pitching to him, or the hundreds of other mediocre middle relievers in baseball today, but KRod? - I like my chances.
By the way, where was Ryan Church in rightfield? Did he give up on backing up the play? I've watched that final play reply over and over and can't seem to see him in the picture. And I'm sure he had time to get there considering the ball stayed up in the air long enough for Teixeira to run from first to home.
And speaking of Ryan Church, why is it that when he missed touching third base to cost the team an important game, manager Jerry "Manual" calls him out publicly for playing uninspired ball and going through the motions. When Luis cASStillo drops a routine popup while trying to catch it with one hand, "Manual" goes on record saying we need to "rally around" cASStillo and not get down on him. I also hate when Jerry Manuel uses the word "battled" - it makes me long for the Art Howe days.
But what was really pathetic was listening to the Yankee announcers trying to spin PayRod's at-bat into a successful one. "... And ARod wins the game for the Yankees!" Are they for real?
Castillo's error negated so many positives that could have come from this ballgame, including 3 Met comebacks, a Gary Sheffield homer, 3 Church rbis, and getting to Mariano. Instead, KRod lost his first game as a Met and blew his first save as well.
"The fish rots from the head" (Omar Minaya)
Okay, well maybe Omar Minaya didn't say that. But one thing's clear: changes have to be made within this organization. Omar always talks about his commitment to winning, but what the team really needs is a commitment to playing WINNING baseball - there's a BIG difference between the two. We're seeing the manifestation of the Mets failure to instill proper fundamentals in just about every level of their organization, from the minor leagues to the players who seem to lack high baseball IQs, to the coaching staff and up to the manager and owners. This lack of focus will continue to manifest itself in results such as yesterday's atrocity and won't end until the Mets as an organization develop a mandate to stop it.