Who can ever forget Heath Ledger's portrayal of the Joker in "The Dark Knight"? Well, New Yorkers and Gotham City now have an even more sinister villain causing havoc and mayhem wherever he goes. And his name: "The Dark Wright" as in "
DAvid the
Rally
Killer"
Wright.

"The DaRK Wright" struck in this weekend sweep of a series against the first place Philadelphia Phillies to the tune of an 0 for 11 series, including a 1 for 21 July so far with 8 strikeouts and 2 double play groundouts killing whatever rallies the Mets could amass. Now that's damaging! There is no rally the DaRK Wright can't kill right now.
I would say these last three games were pretty big games, and just when we needed him the most, the "DaRK Wright", just like Christain Bale, let us all down with perhaps the worst offensive baseball since the final days of strikeout-king Dave Kingman.
Okay... I know this sounds very "what have you done for me lately" kind of thing, but the DaRK Wright really needs to do some soul searching here because he's absolutely killing the team. David, are you hurt? Not focused? Feeling too much pressure? Trying to carry the entire team on your shoulders?... Take a day off. Get your eyes checked out. Relax a little.
And as for Jerry Manuel, if you're not going to rest this guy, at least drop him in the batting order so he can't do too much damage up top. Joe Torre batted ARoid 8th (in the post season at that!). Terry Francona dropped Big Papi when he was slumping. Why can't you do likewise? (Oh, I forgot, those are real managers. My bad...)
As of today - the exact halfway point of the season with the team maybe in 3rd place at best and 3 games under .500 at 39-42, The DaRK Wright is hitting the lightest .329 I can ever remember. Sure that's a pretty solid batting average, but unfortunately batting averages do not win baseball games. Homeruns and rbis do, and the DaRK Wright's 5 and 42 respectively are not going to cut it if the Mets have any hope whatsoever just to stay in the NL East race, much less make the post-season.
Is Wright overrated? Is it unrealistic to ask him to step up his game? Perhaps... But he has a lot of things and intangibles going for him. If he wants to enjoy the glory of playing in New York (endorsements, nightlife, David Letterman appearances, etc.), it's only fair he takes the blame when it's warranted. Right now, he's the best chance we've got and he needs to start performing better in big games (or at least start making productive outs).
So what was the result of the DaRK Wright's diabolical holiday weekend plan? The Mets totalled 3 runs in the entire weekend series with the hated Phillies, losing 7-2 on Friday, 4-1 on Saturday, and 2-0 on Sunday. You saw a really bad Livan Hernandez losing to Rodrigo Lopez, his first win since July of 2007. Then you saw a young Fernando Nieves lose to Jamie Moyer, old enough to be his grandfather. And then, behind Johan Santana, you saw the team get a total of 4 hits against the likes of 4.69 ERA Joe Blanton. Pathetic for any team with resources. Any real team sweeps this series in Philly - which is what the Phillies did to the Mets... again.
That's the frustrating part of being a Mets fan: we know the team has resources. But while all the other GM's in baseball see injuries and crazy things happen to their teams and make moves, what does our Omar Minaya do? Like Commissioner Gordon, he just sits there and waits for his Batmen to bail him out. And just like Commissioner Gordon, Omar seems immune from criticism, somehow making blunder after blunder while keeping his job. This team reeks of Omar - when will he have to pay? If real GM's play chess, Omar's stuck on checkers. The worst part is that ownership seems content about it - and that's really bad news for Met fans, because it probably won't get better.
And lastly, I'm as patriotic and charitable as the next guy, but this "Red Cap" thing MLB is doing really irritates me. Anytime anything is "forced" on someone, it's almost always a bad idea and this honorary red cap farce is probably the worst baseball related idea since Fox's "Scooter" graphic. There's nothing worse than watching your team get completely humiliated by your arch enemy while wearing a red Philly-looking cap in the process.
The only red I want to see is the red phone ringing on Commissioner Omar's desk from Batman telling him he's fired. There's just something inherently wrong with watching the Mets, Yankees, Dodgers, Blue Jays, Mariners, Royals, etc. wearing red. It's just wrong. And speaking of the Dodgers, they're up next at Citi. Remember they swept the Mets in LA a few weeks ago - and that was without Manny. Mets hitting coach Howard Johnson (also known as Chief O'Hara - another bumbler somehow avoiding the axe) better start coaching the hitters better... and fast!
In fact, tell me right now that the "Dark Wright" gets 3 hits total in the entire LA series, and I take it - it's come down to that. Because right now, amen, amen I say to you: citizens of Citi Field (also known as Gotham City Park) are in danger every time the DaRK Wright steps to the plate. And he's an All-Star! (you can't make this up folks)
Labels: batman, DaRK Wright, Joker, red hats, sweep