Metsfanclub.com - The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

Saturday, July 18, 2009

The Secret to Watching the 2009 Mets

Many Met fans nationwide went to bed very angry after watching their team lose another embarrassing clunker to arch-rival Atlanta by an 11-0 margin. 11-0!!! But those who follow Mets Fan Club weren't among them at all. And you know why? Because followers of this blog know the secret to watching the 2009 Mets which I will reveal to you all again right now:

When you're ready to watch a Met game, sit back, relax, have a drink, grab some munchies, get totally psyched for the experience, and get ready to root for the Amazin's, your baseball team...

Then, (here's the critical part), AT ANY PART OF THE BALLGAME, as soon as the Mets trail by 1 run, turn the TV off, leave the stadium, turn the channel... do whatever you have to do to stop watching the game IMMEDIATELY because the team has NO ABILITY WHATSOEVER to win a game when they're trailing at any point in said game.

There you have it. By following this rule, you didn't have to watch Mike Pelfrey give up 9 runs in four innings in yesterday's game. You didn't have to see the entire team amass two measly hits off the likes of Jair Jurrjens. You wouldn't have seen Tim Redding's horrible outing in Pelfrey's relief. And you would have missed an 0 for 18 performance from a lineup including Angel Pagan, Luis Castillo, Jeremy Reed, Jeff Francoeur, Dan Murphy, Alex Cora, and Omir Santos. (Alex Cora - does he have a hit since May?!?!)

Sometimes, you may start watching the game when the Mets have a lead (not often of course, but it could happen). Take Thursday night's game against the Braves for example when you may have turned on the TV in the fourth inning with the Mets actually enjoying a short-lived lead. By employing "The Secret", you could have enjoyed about 4 innings of fun Met baseball watching. That is until the seventh inning when the Braves took the lead by a run off Pedro Feliciano. That's it - 1 run deficit. Game over. You then would have missed the entire 8th and 9th innings for the Mets, when they went a collective 0 for 6 with 4 strikeouts.

See how easy this is to be a Met fan employing "The Secret"? Wouldn't it be great to see this team just one time hit a big home run in the ninth, and maybe win a walkoff in extra innings? You know, like the Pittsburgh Pirates did last night!

Or wouldn't it also be really great for the team to realize they have a manager in way over his head and fire him to avoid further embarrassment as the season moves forward? You know, like the Washington Nationals did?

Wouldn't it be great to see this team develop some really good and exciting young players that the fans would enjoy going out to see? You know, like the Giants and Royals are doing?

I guess if it were easy being a Met fan, we'd all be Yankee fans, right?

Labels: , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home