Metsfanclub.com - The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

Friday, August 21, 2009

There Is No Crying In Baseball ...

Since the music references have been such a hit, I thought that I would head in another direction by taking us all to the movies. So, get your popcorn and soda ready 'cause here we go. Even with the way of the world is today, there are still many adults, especially in sports, who cannot help but act like babies, and Gary Sheffield, you really take the cake. More on this later.

Let's begin. First there is no crying in baseball, but if you were to cry, here is a list of reasons as a Mets fan that we would have to let the tears flow: A minor league that couldn't beat my 12-year old niece's team... a whole bunch of players bite the dust before the season even gets into full swing..., then there is a manager who tries to mix and match, and at times adds a little patchwork to a line-up he has no idea how to make work..., then there is a general manager who can't seem to come up with a halfway decent solution to the problems that he is actually hired to take care of..., then let us not forget the crack medical staff, or should that be a medical staff that is on crack. As a Mets fan, it has become difficult to figure that one out.

I mean come on, without the medical degrees, we even knew not to fly Ryan Church with a concussion across the country. That should have given all a heads up to what the future was going to bring. With all the millions spent, wouldn't you think that someone should be able to tell us something about the condition of most of the players? Yet here we are, still getting different stories not just every week, but every day.

Now, the biggest reason to cry if we allowed ourselves to, is for an ownership that is inept at running a professional baseball operation. An ownership that many fans have been clamoring for to sell the team to someone who knows something, anything, about baseball. The way this organization has been run over the last few years, you can see that those in the front office clearly have no idea what they are doing.

Now to Mr. Sheffield. With all the baseball that you have played, with all the money you have made, and with all of the accolades that you have received over the years, one would think by now that you would have learned or at least developed some sort of common sense. Like I mentioned before, many people are having a hard time out here, the team has been steadily heading into the abyss, players falling to the wayside, literally almost everyday, and you cry and take yourself out of the line-up because management won't sign you? Hey Mr. Sheffield: they do not have to sign you. ... I think it is about time you grew up ... seriously, it is not too late.

Labels: ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home