The Kid's Hitting The Cover Off the Ball!
The Happy Recap: Mets 8, Nats 6
Everyone's been talking about how Chris "The Animal" Carter has been tearing up TripleA minor league ball, and on cue, he came up big in his first Met at-bat with a big go-ahead double in the Mets 6 run eighth inning, giving them an amazing comeback win following their 6-1 deficit.
THE GOOD: Acquired in last year's Billy Wagner trade, many Met fans thought Carter should have made the team to start the season over the likes of those who shall remain nameless but you know who they are. And he sure came up big tonight! But Jason Bay and David Wright were the real hitting stars of the game, each going 3-for-4 and scoring 2 runs apiece. Jeff Francoeur and Rod Barajas each drove in 2 runs and Angel Pagan had the big clutch hit in the eighth to tie the score at the time. The Mets bullpen (especially Hisanori Takahashi, also known as "Takman") was stellar once again combining for 4 and 2/3 scoreless innings, with Raul Valdes picking up his first major league win with the help of KRod's uncharacteristic 3 quick outs in a save situation. And to cap it all off, Ike Davis made another one of his patented "catch a foul ball while tumbling into the dugout" moves, this time ending the ballgame in spectacular fashion.
THE BAD: While not really bad, Ike Davis missed hitting a grand slam homerun in that 8th inning by literally inches. The umpires had to conference and review the play, where the replay showed the ball traveling slightly to the right of the foul pole. I'm not sure whether Davis really thought the ball was fair, but he did a great job "selling it", only it was not to be.
Jose Reyes, hitting out of the three-spot for whatever reason, went 0-for-4 and looked even worse doing it. But Jonathan Niese was pretty bad with his 5 walks and 6 earned runs allowed. Is he just hyped up or can this guy eventually be good? Right now, his 4.58 seems low compared to how he's been beaten up in his recent outings.
THE UGLY: I don't want to hear any more of that "Oh, it's just the Nationals" talk. True, they're not the Yankees, but this team isn't bad at all - and a comeback win is a comeback win, right? After all, the Mets went all last year without a comeback win at CitiField, or so it seems.
Everyone's been talking about how Chris "The Animal" Carter has been tearing up TripleA minor league ball, and on cue, he came up big in his first Met at-bat with a big go-ahead double in the Mets 6 run eighth inning, giving them an amazing comeback win following their 6-1 deficit.
THE GOOD: Acquired in last year's Billy Wagner trade, many Met fans thought Carter should have made the team to start the season over the likes of those who shall remain nameless but you know who they are. And he sure came up big tonight! But Jason Bay and David Wright were the real hitting stars of the game, each going 3-for-4 and scoring 2 runs apiece. Jeff Francoeur and Rod Barajas each drove in 2 runs and Angel Pagan had the big clutch hit in the eighth to tie the score at the time. The Mets bullpen (especially Hisanori Takahashi, also known as "Takman") was stellar once again combining for 4 and 2/3 scoreless innings, with Raul Valdes picking up his first major league win with the help of KRod's uncharacteristic 3 quick outs in a save situation. And to cap it all off, Ike Davis made another one of his patented "catch a foul ball while tumbling into the dugout" moves, this time ending the ballgame in spectacular fashion.THE BAD: While not really bad, Ike Davis missed hitting a grand slam homerun in that 8th inning by literally inches. The umpires had to conference and review the play, where the replay showed the ball traveling slightly to the right of the foul pole. I'm not sure whether Davis really thought the ball was fair, but he did a great job "selling it", only it was not to be.
Jose Reyes, hitting out of the three-spot for whatever reason, went 0-for-4 and looked even worse doing it. But Jonathan Niese was pretty bad with his 5 walks and 6 earned runs allowed. Is he just hyped up or can this guy eventually be good? Right now, his 4.58 seems low compared to how he's been beaten up in his recent outings.
THE UGLY: I don't want to hear any more of that "Oh, it's just the Nationals" talk. True, they're not the Yankees, but this team isn't bad at all - and a comeback win is a comeback win, right? After all, the Mets went all last year without a comeback win at CitiField, or so it seems.




0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home