Metsfanclub.com - The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Takman Adds Blankman to Growing List of Nicknames

The Happy Recap: Mets 5, Phillies 0

Hisanori Takahashi, also known as HTak, Hi-Tak, Hisaner, The Hisanator, Hashy, Takometer, rihi, and of course Takman, pitched six scoreless innings as the Mets shut out the Phillies for the second straight game, raising their record above .500 and eyeing first from their current last-place standing.

THE GOOD: Takman's had two starts so far this year, both against last year's World Series opponents - and he hasn't let up a single run against the two of them. That's remarkable considering he's been the Mets replacement in the rotation for Oliver Perez, whose nicknames can't be printed here. Blankman went 6 innings, allowed no runs and only five hits, struck out six, walked none, lowered his ERA to 2.13 and raised his record to 4-1.

The hitting stars of the game included Rod Barajas, who hit a two-run double and sacrifice fly to drive in 3 runs and lead-off hitter Jose Reyes, who had his fourth straight multiple-hit game including his first home run in who knows how long. Jose batting third? What idiot thought of that!? When you start hearing Jose Jose Jose chants, you know the Mets are going good!

Despite technically being in last place, the Mets are just 3 games off the lead in the NL East as a result of this victory.

THE BAD: The Phillies were shut out in consecutive games for the first time since August 2008, and they were blanked for the third time in four games. These defending NL champs are hitting .199 (51 for 256) in their last eight games and have been outscored 37-15. Even by Met standards, that's pretty bad. Thank you, Mr. Schedule maker, for allowing the Mets to face them at this moment in the season.

THE UGLY: While Takman continues to lead the league in cool nick-names, this "Frenchy" thing with Francoeur has to go. "Frenchy"? Just because his last name sounds French? I know French people who don't want to be reminded that they're French. A grown man being called Frenchy?... what's next, Chipper?

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home