Pelfrey, Santana Breathe Different Sighs of KRod Relief
The Recap: Tuesday: Mets 4, Padres 2 | Yesterday: Mets 1, Padres 5
How did the Mets lose yesterday? KRod blew it for Johan. How did they win 2 night's ago? KRod almost blew it for Pelfrey. Both games had pitchers strong enough to go nine innings, yet both games had to see the disastrous "automatically go to the closer" mentality that's pervading Major League baseball.
THE GOOD: After the Padres explosion of runs against Takman et al, Mets starters Mike Pelfrey and Johan Santana both turned in stellar efforts - and you can't even say "Oh, it's just the Padres" as this team is still in first place in the NL West.
(by the way, this season had just about every expert picking the Padres to finish dead last in that division. Faced with those dire predictions, Padres manager Bud Black circled the troops and convinced them to play determined baseball to prove their critics wrong. Last year, when the Mets faced dire circumstances with injuries, Jerry Manuel went on record saying the Mets couldn't win unless they got a break from the other team or something. Yet people say Jerry "deserves" another year to see what he can do.)
But getting back to the good, Pelfrey won his fourth straight start, allowing just one run and four hits in eight innings to raise his record to 8-1. The Sheriff is 4-0 with a 1.26 ERA over that period. As mentioned previously, there's no reason Pelf can't go nine in that game. Pelf, you're the Sheriff.. DEMAND the ball next time!
Pelf got long-ball help from both David Wright and Ike Davis in the game, although Ike's dinger virtually assured him sitting on the bench in the next game. (We're joking, but maybe he should have since he went 0-5). Jason Bay had a nice day yesterday, going 3-for-4 in the loss and believe it or not, Jeff Francoeur seems to be heating up as well as we enter June.
Johan was Johan once again yesterday - great pitching performance with absolutely no run support. Johan's a strong guy... any reason he can't go nine? Johan, you're the best pitcher on the staff... DEMAND the ball next time so we don't have to watch KRod blow another game for you.
THE BAD: Even with his so-called "save" on Tuesday (he entered the game with a 4-1 lead and gets a save, jeez!), KRod makes every game interesting, although not in a good way. His stats indicate yesterday was his third "blown save" of the year, but we all know that number's deceiving since he's been roughed up in non-save situations this year as well. Luckily for him, it mostly goes unnoticed due to the incredible number of mindless mishaps the manager of this team makes. And luckily for him, major league baseball doesn't count any earned runs against his record as somehow his ERA is just 2.22 (how is that number so low!?)
Jose Reyes' hot streak? It's over. After tearing up the ball for a number of games, Jose went 1-for-12 in the San Diego series. And David Wright? Yes he did hit a home run, but please... stop striking out! Remember: nothing good can happen with a strikeout. If you at least hit the ball, the fielder may make an error, perhaps you beat out the grounder, and sometimes strange things can happen. But when you K, you get NOTHING. And it's not like the Mets are facing Ubaldo Jimenez quality pitchers here. Another 3 strikeouts yesterday means he's K'ed 4 times in 9 at-bats. Will there ever be another .400 hitter in baseball? I don't know, but Wright may be the first .400 strikeout-er.
THE UGLY: Like every player on the Mets, myself and Met fans across the country are getting extremely upset at Oliver Perez's tiresome situation. Since when do players dictate the terms on management's requests. Newsflash to Ollie: it's not about you. If the team (your employer) tells you to go to AAA, you go! I'd love to see the Mets organization flex its muscles and tell this loser: we're paying you and we're telling you to go to the minors and work it out PERIOD - you don't want to go, then we terminate your contract and you get paid ZERO! So sue us... Watch how fast he reports to the AAA club then.
How did the Mets lose yesterday? KRod blew it for Johan. How did they win 2 night's ago? KRod almost blew it for Pelfrey. Both games had pitchers strong enough to go nine innings, yet both games had to see the disastrous "automatically go to the closer" mentality that's pervading Major League baseball.
THE GOOD: After the Padres explosion of runs against Takman et al, Mets starters Mike Pelfrey and Johan Santana both turned in stellar efforts - and you can't even say "Oh, it's just the Padres" as this team is still in first place in the NL West.(by the way, this season had just about every expert picking the Padres to finish dead last in that division. Faced with those dire predictions, Padres manager Bud Black circled the troops and convinced them to play determined baseball to prove their critics wrong. Last year, when the Mets faced dire circumstances with injuries, Jerry Manuel went on record saying the Mets couldn't win unless they got a break from the other team or something. Yet people say Jerry "deserves" another year to see what he can do.)
But getting back to the good, Pelfrey won his fourth straight start, allowing just one run and four hits in eight innings to raise his record to 8-1. The Sheriff is 4-0 with a 1.26 ERA over that period. As mentioned previously, there's no reason Pelf can't go nine in that game. Pelf, you're the Sheriff.. DEMAND the ball next time!
Pelf got long-ball help from both David Wright and Ike Davis in the game, although Ike's dinger virtually assured him sitting on the bench in the next game. (We're joking, but maybe he should have since he went 0-5). Jason Bay had a nice day yesterday, going 3-for-4 in the loss and believe it or not, Jeff Francoeur seems to be heating up as well as we enter June.
Johan was Johan once again yesterday - great pitching performance with absolutely no run support. Johan's a strong guy... any reason he can't go nine? Johan, you're the best pitcher on the staff... DEMAND the ball next time so we don't have to watch KRod blow another game for you.
THE BAD: Even with his so-called "save" on Tuesday (he entered the game with a 4-1 lead and gets a save, jeez!), KRod makes every game interesting, although not in a good way. His stats indicate yesterday was his third "blown save" of the year, but we all know that number's deceiving since he's been roughed up in non-save situations this year as well. Luckily for him, it mostly goes unnoticed due to the incredible number of mindless mishaps the manager of this team makes. And luckily for him, major league baseball doesn't count any earned runs against his record as somehow his ERA is just 2.22 (how is that number so low!?)Jose Reyes' hot streak? It's over. After tearing up the ball for a number of games, Jose went 1-for-12 in the San Diego series. And David Wright? Yes he did hit a home run, but please... stop striking out! Remember: nothing good can happen with a strikeout. If you at least hit the ball, the fielder may make an error, perhaps you beat out the grounder, and sometimes strange things can happen. But when you K, you get NOTHING. And it's not like the Mets are facing Ubaldo Jimenez quality pitchers here. Another 3 strikeouts yesterday means he's K'ed 4 times in 9 at-bats. Will there ever be another .400 hitter in baseball? I don't know, but Wright may be the first .400 strikeout-er.
THE UGLY: Like every player on the Mets, myself and Met fans across the country are getting extremely upset at Oliver Perez's tiresome situation. Since when do players dictate the terms on management's requests. Newsflash to Ollie: it's not about you. If the team (your employer) tells you to go to AAA, you go! I'd love to see the Mets organization flex its muscles and tell this loser: we're paying you and we're telling you to go to the minors and work it out PERIOD - you don't want to go, then we terminate your contract and you get paid ZERO! So sue us... Watch how fast he reports to the AAA club then.




0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home