Metsfanclub.com - The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

The Unofficial Website of Mets Fans Everywhere!

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Dessert is Spelled With Two "S" Because You Always Go Back for Seconds... Or Thirds

The Recap: After watching the Mets get hammered in the first game of the series, many Mets fans actually came back to watch game two... then even watched a 14-inning night game on the West Coast to the bitter end.

After getting embarrassed in San Fran, the Mets traveled to the Arizona desert for their second dose of humiliation, watching Arizona sweep them while the Met players laughed and joked around in the clubhouse, completely oblivious to the 3-game pounding they received at the hands of the last place D'Backs. Nice...

THE GOOD: Arizona's a great State, and if you've never been there, I totally recommend a visit. And Phoenix in general is a great town and a lot of fun. And I know - I've been there. So whether you agree with the state's official stance on political issues or not, a visit to Arizona's a must on the bucket list - just don't go to a Mets game when you're there. And I know - I've done that.

So other than another solid outing by R.A. Dickey, the continuing emergence of Angel Pagan as the best hitter on the team, (yes, you read that correctly) and solo homeruns from a variety of players, there's not much good to report after Monday's 13-2 shellacking, Tuesday's 3-2 monstrosity, and last night's 4-3 14-inning losses. I guess if you have to take some positives from this 3-game sweep, it's that Arizona was is such control, Mets fans didn't have to watch KRocked blow any save opportunities.

THE BAD: Where do you start here? The light-hitting Jason Bay? The clueless Mets manager? A non-hitting catching trio? The horrendous coaching staff? A lackadaisical team attitude that coincides with the return of Carlos Beltran and Luis Castillo? The fact it takes a no-name scrub like Alex Cora to show emotion in the clubhouse after a loss?

Let's just concentrate on the most perplexing: Mike Pelfrey. Who is this guy? Is he "The Sheriff" that took control of the game and imposed his will on opposing hitters, or is he "Oprah", as in "Win-Free" over the past several weeks? Oprah allowed another 6 runs in just 1.1 innings and it could have been worse! His stat-line over his past eight starts isn't bad... it's absolutely atrocious as in worst since 1900. Yes, 1900!

Let's put it this way, losing to a good contending team like San Francisco isn't good, but at least it's foreseeable. Expectations of winning when you face a 34-58 Arizona team are much higher. Losing like this is a disgrace for a team with a starting lineup of legitimate 7 All-Star caliber players. Case closed. I shutter to think what the Dodgers will do to this team next in LA.

THE UGLY: One of my pet peeves is TV announcers who don't do their homework before going on the air. That's why I'm totally shocked that Jon Miller of ESPN Sunday Night Baseball actually was inducted into the broadcaster hall of fame, proving once and for all that the Broadcaster HOF has completely jumped the shark. But D'Back's announcer Daron Sutton really took it to another ugly level the other night when he was "amazed" when he saw Met fans in attendance at Chase Field wearing "Carter" jerseys. Said DSut:

"Wow, this Chris Carter's only been a Met for a short period of time and they've already selling and wearing his jersey!"

Eh... Daron... There was a guy who played for the Mets awhile back named Gary Carter. You know, All-Star Gary Carter... World Series Champion Gary Carter... Hall of Famer Gary Carter!!!! You would think that even if this announcer never even heard of Gary Carter, the "8" on the fan's Carter jersey vs. the "23" being worn by Chris Carter would've tipped him off that something was wrong. And folks, his comment wasn't a joke. He was serious. The other guys in the booth were too embarrassed for him to correct him on the air. He then apologized for his lack of Met baseball knowledge when game came back after the in-between inning commercial break. And I know - I was actually watching the game (and that's pretty ugly in itself!).

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home